The new album ‘Nothin’ Unexpected’ has today (3rd February) been released on At The Helm Records.

You can buy it on CD and digitally wherever you would normally buy your music. If you buy it from www.atthehelmrecords.com you get a free 18 track label sampler while stocks last! And if you’re someone who still likes a record shop, you’ll find it in branches of HMV and all good independent record shops. For Oxfordshire folks, be sure to pop into Truck Store or Blackwell in Oxford, or Rapture in Witney.

Here’s what some reviewers have had to say about the album already:

“Dare I suggest that Ags Connolly might be the best singer-songwriter in the country field that this country has ever turned out? Yes, I think I do, and I think he is…and this is a fabulous record.”
– Country Music People

“For those who repeatedly throw up their arms as if looking for divine intervention in their quest for real country music, in Ags Connolly they have found their saviour.”
– Flyin’ Shoes Review

“The deeper you dig, the more gems you unearth.”
– MusicRiot.co.uk

Ags Connoly 3000 x 3000



You can now pre-order the new album ‘Nothin’ Unexpected’ from the At The Helm Records shop: http://atthehelmrecords.bigcartel.com/product/ags-connolly-nothin-unexpected-cd-pre-order

Early reviews for the album have been unequivocally favourable:

“Ags’ second album…has seen his writing not just mature but move forward leaps and bounds away from any pigeon-hole” – Rocking Magpie

“Occasionally…someone comes along that produces a body of work that gets noticed beyond our local circuit. Someone with the talent that equals or surpasses the huge pool that exists in the US. Someone like Ags Connolly.” – Your Life In A Song

CDs will ship in the week of release so should reach you on or before the release date of 3rd February.

Don’t be slow!

Ags Connoly 3000 x 3000


Ags Connoly 3000 x 3000

At The Helm Records have announced they are teaming up with Ags Connolly and will be releasing his second album, ‘Nothin’ Unexpected’, on February 3rd 2017.

You can stream the debut track ‘I Hope You’re Unhappy’ now via Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/at…/i-hope-youre-unhappy-ags-connolly

On following 2014’s ‘How About Now’, Ags said: “It was great to have producer Dean Owens and the same superb musicians on board again, not to mention contributions from The Mavericks’ Michael Guerra on accordion and Grand Ole Opry staff member Eamon McLoughlin on fiddle. I believe in the strength of the songs and I’m excited about how these guys helped bring them to life. I hope you will be too.”

At The Helm Records are an independent record label based in Brighton, England.

Here is a collection of places you can buy bitcoin online right now.


Ags’ song ‘When Country Was Proud’ has been named among the Top 50 country songs of the last 30 years by Country Music People magazine.

The October issue features a list of great songs released in the genre since 1986, a list that includes the likes of George Jones, Randy Travis, George Strait, Dale Watson and many more, not least Ags’ good friend Jeremy Pinnell.

The inclusion marks yet more recognition for the music from ‘How About Now’, the debut album soon to be followed up in early 2017.

cmp 50 from 30 2CMP 50 from 30

Here is a collection of places you can buy bitcoin online right now.


Despite the ‘Traditional’ cowboy songs limited release album only being a stop-gap release before Ags’ second album of originals is released later this year, Country Music People saw fit to give it 5 stars in their August issue!

Reviewer Chris Smith called the album  “an informative and very entertaining piece of work, and quite possibly a collector’s item for the future”.

Copies of ‘Traditional’ are still available at £10 each. You can buy by PayPal using agsconnolly@googlemail.com or by sending cash/a cheque to 29 High Street, Finstock, Oxfordshire, OX7 3DA.

cmp traditional



From Ags…

Hey folks, while I’m working on getting my second album out later this year, I thought you might like some new music to keep you going. Or maybe old music! I recently went into the studio to record a number of old-school cowboy songs and have now put them together in an album called ‘Traditional’. For the time being, this CD is only being released in limited numbers.

I was originally drawn to these songs by the field recordings, collections and interpretations of men like John and Alan Lomax, Ed McCurdy, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott and Woody Guthrie, among others. I love their honesty and directness. Most of these songs are ‘traditional’ or, in other words, have no known writer. Countless versions of each probably exist, but these are my favourite versions.

The tracks are as follows:

1. Goodbye, Old Paint 
2. Fair Lady of the Plains
3. St James Infirmary 
4. Strawberry Roan
5. Rambling Gambler
6. The Buffalo Skinners
7. Roving Gambler
8. Diamond Joe
9. Red River Valley
10. South Coast
11. Mole in the Ground
12. Shenandoah

This album will only be available on CD and is purely being self-released. The only place to get it is direct from me.

The CD costs £10.00 (includes postage) and there are three ways to buy it:

1. BY PAYPAL – you can use the e-mail address agsconnolly@googlemail.com to make payment over Paypal. Be sure to specify what the payment is for and include your address.

2. BY POST – Send cash or a cheque to 29 High Street, Finstock, Oxon, OX7 3DA.

3. LIVE! – Once I receive stock I will have copies of the CD at all my live shows until they sell out.

NON-UK orders – please e-mail agsconnolly@gmail.com to confirm postage costs.

The CDs are now being manufactured so orders will be dispatched as soon as I receive them.

It’s been a long-held ambition of mine to record this CD, so I hope you like it. I think it’s important to keep this stuff alive.

Cowboy up and get ya one!


Have you joined Ags’ mailing list yet?

If not, you should. It’s the best place to keep up to date on all his latest music news. In the coming weeks and months there will be some VERY cool stuff going on (yes, including the release of album number 2!), so you really don’t want to miss out.

On the right hand side of this page you’ll find a box where you can simply enter your e-mail address and a security code to ensure you are added to the list.

Do it today!jazz cafe oct 14 3


Last week Ags was back in Scotland to record his long-awaited second album.

Stuart Nisbet was once again on guitars, Kev McGuire played stand-up bass and Jim McDermott was behind the drums. Dean Owens reprised his role in the producer’s chair and Garry Boyle was again on engineering duties. In addition, Andy May played piano again and two special guests from the US also contributed.

The album has now been mixed and is awaiting mastering. Details on its release will be made available as soon as possible.


(L-R): Jim McDermott, Kev McGuire, Ags, Stuart Nisbet. (Not pictured): Dean Owens and Garry Boyle.


Ags’ US tour with singer-songwriters Jack Grelle and Ryan Koenig came to a fitting conclusion on Sunday 28th February as they played Off Broadway in St, Louis MO – Jack and Ryan’s hometown.

It was the 16th date of a hugely successful tour which encompassed 7 states and 12 cities. Matt Meyer, drummer for Pokey LaFarge, and Jack’s regular bass player Brice Barecevic made up the rhythm section while Ryan chipped in on mandolin, harmonica, fiddle and backing vocals (when not performing his own songs on guitar). Jack also made his debut on lead guitar.

Talks are already underway for a follow-up next year but in the meantime, here’s a few shots from this go round:

The first night of tour. Café Berlin, Columbia, MO.


The band onstage at The Buzz Mill, Austin TX.


The last night at Off Broadway. St Louis, MO.


For more pictures and updates, don’t forget to check out Ags on Facebook!